My Experience in the virtual world built on Ethereum.

My Experience in the virtual world built on Ethereum.

I’ve always been a big fan of 3D animation, so when I learned about Metaverse tech, I naturally got in the flow. If you’ve been wondering what it feels like to be inside a virtual world, you came to the right place.

I visited Decentraland, a virtual world powered by the Ethereum blockchain, and I’ll be sharing my experience in this article.

Talking.png

What is Decentraland?

Decentraland is a decentralized 3D virtual platform where users can build,*** explore***, and create things in the virtual space. You get to play games, buy plots of land host and attend events all in the virtual space.

Unlike every other virtual platform, it is powered by the Ethereum blockchain and it has its native cryptocurrency token💰 (MANA), which powers the economy in the platform. You can buy lands, wearables, and NFTs with the MANA Token.

My Experience.

I entered the Decentraland website link in my chrome browser, the program required that I connect my web3 wallet to make transactions and to fully enjoy the platform, this is not usually a simple task for a web3 noob.

Wallets.png

I didn’t have one so I logged in as a guest, which had limited experience tho. After setting up my avatar, I was ready to explore the multiverse😂.

My first steps

Genesis.png

I was teleported to Genesis plaza, a place in the center of Decentraland. The music I received as a welcome was lit, gentle, and soothing to the ears. The place had portals that could be used to teleport to events and different parts of Decentraland.

Pool.png

I was given a quick tutorial by a robot, after that, I had a look around the plaza then I decided to jump inside the pool. It felt like a kind of transport mechanism, it took me to another part of decentraland, a Bar.

Bar.png

I saw myself in a bar and the next thing I saw was a walking dogecoin😂, coming straight to where I was standing. I would be scared if it were real but it wasn’t, the giant dogecoin walked past me anyways. I saw an octopus as a bar attendant, I went up to him and we spoke for a while then I took the pool back to genesis plaza.

beach.png

I clicked on one of the events then I appeared on a beach, the music there was dope too but the place felt lonely, I was the only one on the whole beach. I watched a video of a lady teaching yoga, and after a short while, I used a map to get back to the plaza.

My final steps

clicked.png

I wanted to interact with people so I search for events with a huge gathering of people and clicked it, then I appeared in a big hall with some very funny-looking figures. I saw a couple of people and tried interacting with them. it was difficult, it was as if everyone was deaf.

interact.png

After trying to interact with different people and failing, I took a portal out of the place. I appeared in front of a very nice-looking building, it was owned by airdrop, I took a look around the building and noticed how well-built it was.

airdrop.png

I had been in decentraland for over 15 mins so I logged out and shut down my chrome browser.

My Reviews.

Excellent sound engineering.

The welcome music for any place I entered was pretty impressive, it aligned with the environment. Also, every physical and naturally occurring element sounded real, the water felt real, and the sound of walking sounded real.

Low Interaction.

Decentraland has a lot of space, and some places are empty, I guess it’s because not many people log in every day. You’d have to walk long distances before meeting with a single person, and even when you meet that person interacting is another difficult thing.

Conclusion

Decentraland is still in its early stage and it still has a long way to go. The idea of building and owning virtual properties is really impressive. The community currently has some ongoing projects like making a desktop version of the software available.

With its growing community and its native cryptocurrency token (MANA) already listed on Binance, it has a promising future.